moonlit garden

It's a new dawn / It's a new day / It's a new life

12 Fantasy Books that should be Movies

Earlier, I made a list of 10 science fiction books that shoul d be movies.  Here is my list of fantasy tales.

Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley
What:  The daughter of a witch confronts a powerful dragon to save her kingdom.
What’s in it for me:  I want to see Arin fight the dragon with her long red hair swirling around her.
More information.

Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton
What:  Anita Blake investigates a serial killer of vampires.
What’s in it for me:  Anita Blake deserves a cinematic version – she’s as cool as Buffy but lives in a grownup world.
A review.

Enchanted Castle by Edith Nesbit
What:  Three children find a magical ring and a mystery.
What’s in it for me:  I want to see the enchanted castle.  Also, I love invisible stuff.
More information.

War for the Oaks by Emma Bull
What:  Eddi, a rock musician,  is pulled into a battle between fairy folk.
What’s in it for me:  The Phouka, yummy.  Plus, I’d like to hear the glamour’d rock show.
A review.

The Princess and Curdie by George MacDonald
What:  Curdie is grown up and goes to rescue his princess again.
What’s in it for me:  I’d like to see the Grandmother/Eve summoning the birds for battle.
A review.

Half Magic by Edgar Eager
What:  Four children find a magic coin that only grants half a wish.
What’s in it for me:  The tournament would great fun to watch.
A summary.

Ribsy by Beverly Cleary
What:  A dog runs away and then tries to find his way home.
What’s in it for me:  Ribsy is a highly endearing character and I’d like to hear his ‘voice.’
A summary.

Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeleine L’Engle
What:  A boy and a unicorn must uncover what historical events caused the present calamity.
What’s in it for me: I want to hear St. Patrick’s rune chanted as a spell for stopping evil.
L’Engle’s book.

Country Bunny and the Little Gold Slippers by Marjorie Flack & Dubose Heyward
What:  A mommy bunny vies for the best rabbit job in the land: Easter Bunny
What’s in it for me:  Seeing the mommy rabbit besting all the arrogant men rabbits in the competition.
more information.

Big Joke Game by Scott Corbett
What:  Boy and his guardian devil(!)  have to survive a living board game.
What’s in it for me:  Seeing the game board come to life.

Clairvoyant Countess by Dorothy Gilman
What:  A clairvoyant woman tracks down a missing woman.
What’s in it for me:  I would like to see an interesting story about esp for once.
A review.

Archangel by Sharon Shinn
What:  A ‘cinderella’ is chosen to be the consort of the Archangel who controls the planet’s climate.
What’s in it for me:  The angels flying.  The angels singing.
A review.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

