Contract with God by Will Eisner.

I have heard a lot of good reviews and this is a classic of comic book/graphic novels.

I have delayed in reading this one because I don’t really like “The Spirit.” I admire it, especially the artistry in the splash pages, but I haven’t enjoyed it. The stories seemed artificial and not funny or suspenseful. So, I wasn’t that eager to try Contract.

Far from being disappointed, I am overwhelmed. I was not emotionally prepared for the stories. The first of the stories felt like a parable, very well done. The next stories felt very real to me. Eisner was able to present his people (not characters) as fully rounded without excusing their choices. That’s hard to do.

The best thing about this experience is now I want to try his other works because I understand what the fuss was all about.

Leave a Reply

