Watchers by Dean Koontz: two mutated animals escape from a lab and lots of people want them back, except for the ones who want them dead.

First one down for my horror challenge! The afterward to this book makes me think that Koontz or his fans think that this is his magnum opus, his “Stairway.” It’s certainly the most life-affirming, optimistic horror novel I’ve ever read.

After finishing Watchers, I started to miss a dog-friend of mine named Boo. I was lucky to briefly visit with her on my break. I also got to see a week-old litter of 8 puppies (not Boo’s). One puppy made these odd whirring growls until he fell asleep in my hands.

Puppies and daffodils, it really is spring.

Leave a Reply

