I suspect the movie makers were banking on Steve McQueen’s charisma to carry it. Unfortunately, I’ve only seen The Blob.  Perhaps if I watched his other movies – with sympathetic characters – then I would understand. 

Steve McQueen plays a powerful, wealthy and bored businessman, Thomas Crown.  He’s so bored that he sets up bank robberies just for fun.  However, an insurance investigator Vickie Anderson (Faye Dunaway) is on the case and she suspects Crown is behind it.

The first scene in which the man is interviewed for the position of getaway car driver was good stuff.  It was well done and riveting.  I think the movie should have been done about the driver’s story.

The robbery sequence which followed shortly afterward with the split screens was well done too.  I was quite taken with it.

after that…

________________________________________________

My main problem with Crown is not his morals but his perfection.  He’s smart, he’s handsome, he’s rich, he’s daring, he’s athletic, and he’s successful in business.  In dealing with women, he’s confident and seductive.  He robs banks and nobody catches him.

I just didn’t get why I should be worried about him.

I thought for sure that I’d begin to understand why McQueen’s so beloved after watching this movie.  Maybe I should try The Great Escape or The Magnificent Seven.

2 thoughts on “Thomas Crown Affair (1968)

  1. “Beloved” isn’t the word for an anti-hero, anti-establishment persona like McQueen’s. I missed “The Thomas Crown Affair” when it came out in 1968, but I taped it recently and watched it after I read your blog. It stinks. There’s no story. Faye Dunaway’s character is embarrassing (when the cop calls her “baby,” she barely even pouts in response). The only reason to watch it (if you happen to live in the Boston area as I do) is to catch a few glimpses of what the city looked like forty years ago.

    You can see McQueen as he really was in the movies you mentioned, but I’d suggest “Bullitt.” If you don’t like him in that, you won’t like him at all. (I was living in San Francisco when it was being made — also in 1968 — and watched them set up a few shots.)

  2. Hi misterblifil,

    I see, I didn’t know what McQueen was all about. I’ll have to keep that in mind when I watch Bullitt – thanks for the suggestion. I’m impressed that you got to watch some of the filming.

    I wholeheartedly agree with you: the movie does stink. I couldn’t bring myself to talk about Dunaway’s character. The “baby” bit is a good example of why I couldn’t.

    The difference in the quality of these movies is amazing to me but at least it’s not boring.

Leave a Reply

