E is for Erato, the muse of love poetry. I’ve always thought she and Thalia the muse of comedy would be the best of the nine muses to party with. They’d never get dictatorial or stay down for long. Thalia would know all the best jokes. Erato would make everyone around her feel starry-eyed. Anyway, here’s one of my favorite love poems.

My Star

All that I know
Of a certain star
Is, it can a throw
(Like an angled spar)
Now a dart of red,
Now a dart of blue;
Till my friends have said
They would fain see, too.
My star that dartles the red and the blue!
Then it stops like a bird; like a flower, hangs furled:
They must solace themselves with the Saturn above it.
What matter to me if their star is a world?
Mine has opened its soul to me; therefore I love it.
Robert Browning (1812-1889)

HeartEnchant.net has some of my favorite love poems. Poet’s Corner.org has good ones too.

____________________________________

E is for Elfquest by Wendy and Richard Pini. I was quite taken with this series when I first discovered it. I can’t remember how old I was – perhaps eight years old. It was such a prettily drawn story full of magic, adventure and romance, perfect for my tastes.

The Cutter, Leetah, and Rayek love triangle drew me in and the first quest the elves embarked on won me over completely. I have never read the entire series because all the different editions confuse me. But it’s still one of my favorites and Wendy Pini was the first “girl” artist I ever heard of who worked in comics.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

