N is for Nancy Drew

Nancy Drew was pretty much perfect. She had good manners, good clothes and a cool car. She had an indulgent father, a boyfriend, and friends who’d put themselves in danger for her. She was feminine, athletic and level-headed. She defended the helpless, stood up to the bullies and always solved the case.

Arthur Prager’s Rascals at Large is an appreciation of the pulp series for kids. He discusses the revisions and the quarrels between the various writers of Nancy Drew. It’s pretty interesting.

Now I couldn’t read the books. They are kind of terrible. But I believe I still compare any new detective or adventurer to her. Ms. Drew set the standard in my mind.

I read that the new Nancy Drew movie gives the heroine amnesia, and makes her pathetically old fashioned. That’s a pity.

I always imagined that an updated Nancy Drew would be more like Veronica Mars or Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Milhoune or Abbie Carmichael (Angie Harmon) on Law & Order.

2 thoughts on “N is for Nancy Drew

  1. I had a terrible crush on Nancy and envied Ned Nickerson. Nancy, as a detective, didn’t rank up there with the Hardy Boys (in my chauvinistic 12-year old opinion) but I read her books and enjoyed them when I couldn’t find anything by Franklin W. Dixon…

  2. Hi Cliff,

    I felt a little sorry for Ned – she never paid much attention to him. But he could count on her for bringing him into an exciting adventure.

    I have to confess that I wasn’t much interested in the Hardy Boys (although I tried). I preferred The Three Investigators, mostly because they had a secret fort.

Leave a Reply

