X is for treasure on pirate maps. The big, sprawling Χ was the best part. What

would be there? Who knows (except the dead men) but it was fabulous. I think I carried a little of this with me when I started taking algebra. I have no math aptitude or liking. But algebra was the best because you solved for X. Of course, you wanted to find X, that’s where the treasure is!


Cover of "Usagi Yojimbo, Book 1: The Roni...
Cover of Usagi Yojimbo, Book 1: The Ronin

Y is for (Usagi) Yojimbo. Yeah, I cheated but I’ve just started reading this series and I couldn’t wait. Usagi Yojimbo by Stan Sakai is a long running adventure series about a rabbit warrior in Feudal Japan. This is a deeper story than I first expected. Though there are some light moments, this definitely a story about honor and valor. Usagi is a ronin because his master died and he will not find another. He wanders the country helping the defenseless and generally being a hero. This series won me over. It’s got action, humor, intrigue, pathos, friendship, mystery, villains and, well, all the good stuff. It’s well plotted and the characters have depth. The artwork is simple and cartoony and the characters are all anthropomorphic animals. One conceit I quite like is that a breath holding a skull floats over the heads of the dead. Another good thing is that I believe children would enjoy it despite some violence and some serious themes.

Leave a Reply

