Guilty Pleasure #1

People talk about bad movies, chocolate, boy bands, gossip as if these were the chiefest of guilty pleasures. Nonsense. There is no guilty pleasure as acute as procrastination.

Instead of doing all the things that I should be doing – I went browsing in the library and came home with six books containing information completely useless to me. It was so satisfying.

1woman11-med.jpg

Animated TV Specials: The Complete Directory to the First Twenty-Five Years, 1962-1982 by George W. Woolery (I’m such a sucker for annotated lists of cartoons.)

Soap Operas Worldwide: Cultural and Serial Realities by Marilyn J. Matelski (It covers countries on most continents and briefly discusses internet soap operas, awesome. I would love to have this conversation:
“so, whatcha doing?” “watching a Russian soap opera.”)

Gender, Genre & Narrative Pleasure, ed. Derek Longhurst (It has essays on East Lynne, L’Amour’s Hondo and King’s Carrie. Yummy.)

Functions of the Fantastic: Selected Essays from the Thirteenth International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, ed. Joe Sanders. (There are essays on Jane Austen and The Dark is Rising.)

Encyclopedia of Allegorical Literature by David Adams Leeming and Kathleen Morgan Drowne (Well, this I got for a personal project that I’m working on.)

Last, and best:

Bombay Cinema: An Archive of the City by Ranjani Mazumdar (It covers 2 movies I’ve actually seen: Dil Chahta Hai and Rangeela which impresses me since I think I’ve only seen six or so.)

Leave a Reply

