costume dramas

The inability to analyze is still with me. So, I rented a few movies, locally and online. I felt in the need of something pleasant.

I watched this one for an assignment last week actually:
Jumpin’ Jack Flash (1986) – it’s a bad movie but it was still an interesting look back at how Goldberg, computers and women were portrayed.

Pride & Prejudice (2003) – Modern P+P set in Utah. I have thoroughly disliked this movie for the first hour and a half. But things have picked up a bit in the last half hour. The actors are all good.

Sapphire and Steel (1979) a SF TV show from the U.K. Some kind of time-traveling detectives? People have raved about this, so I’m giving it a try.

Satya (1998) Indian musical about a gangster. I picked it it up because I recognized the name but I’m fairly sure it’s not a feel good movie. A few of the songs I sampled looked like fun.

Scarlet Pimpernel (1999) I’ve not seen this version. The costumes look great. I thought I’d try though my heart belongs to the 1982 one with Ian McKellen.

The Moonstone (1996) Based on Wilkie Collins’ mystery. The beginning seems promising.

Oh, and, well, I was embarrassed to admit it but I got High School Musical too. I think it has dancing in it.

Leave a Reply

