I read these a while ago but didn’t talk about them at the time.


Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block. (1989).

Famous young ad

ult book. Weetzie Bat and her best friend Dirk look for love and deal with complications of life and relationships. The story is fantastic but not that much of a fantasy, if that makes sense.

Here is a review of the book.

I especially liked Block’s use of language in this very short book. All the perkiness and fairy glitter cover a rather sad story. I was intrigued by Witch Child, My Secret Agent Lover Man’s offspring.


Fangoria’s 101 Best Horror Movies You’ve Never Seen: A Celebration of the World’s Most Unheralded Fright Flicks by Adam Lukeman. (2003).

I enjoyed this a lot – Lukeman is an entertaining writer. I used it to add movies to my horror project.

My only objection to the list is Kingdom of the Spiders (Trailer). That was no hidden treasure.


Petite Rouge: A Cajun Red Riding Hood by Mike Artell (2003).

Petite Rouge

A lot of fun and I like how Petite Rouge, who is a duck, bests the alligator (not wolf). A smile of a picture book.

A review.


Storm Warriors by Elisa Carbone. (2002).

Nathan helps a rescue team, the precursor to the Coast Guard, in North Carolina in the 1890s.

Cover of "Storm Warriors"
Cover of Storm Warriors

Issues of adolescent identity and the African American struggle. Based on a true story – the author’s note had more interest for me than the book.  Nancy Keane’s booktalk.


Bound by Donna Jo Napoli. (2006)

Based on the Chinese version of Cinderella.

Xing Xing survives the horrific abuse of her wretched stepmother and believes her mother has become reincarnated into a giant fish.

The first book by this author that I’ve read. She’s well thought of but I disliked this book.

(Here is a positive review).

The violence was disturbing. I didn’t buy the conclusion either. Xing Xing should have acknowledged that she was marrying the rich man to escape her abusive home. I didn’t buy that they suddenly had a meeting of minds.

But I loved the cover.


So.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

