I feel a little distressed that I didn’t care for this much.

On the aesthetic and technical side, it’s a wonder.  It looks beautiful: the landscape, the flora and fauna, the characters.  There was a stupefying amount of work put into it.

However, the storyline was predictable and the pacing was sluggish.  I also didn’t warm up to the main characters.  I think it would have been more successful to have humans in the lead roles, ala Neverending Story.

I didn’t watch the making of which might have helped me appreciate the movie more.  At very least it would have been highly entertaining to see the craft behind the magic.

Leave a Reply

