Shojo Beat April 2008

Cover: Love Sand Chronicles and I’m happy to see Ann on the cover but she fades away because she’s so pale.  Would have like something with more pop.

Ultimate Anime List by Nancy Thistlewaite

I’ve read many manga volumes but I’ve seen very few of these anime.  Hmmm….

Cardcaptor Sakura – Though I saw one of the movies, and own one of the mangled version DVDs, I can’t say I’ve seen it.  I own five of one of the series of manga.

Sailor Moon –  This was my first shojo anime.

His and Her Circumstances – read the first 8 volumes of this series but then I lost interest.

Fruits Basket – not seen the anime but read the first 6 volumes of the manga.

Vision of Escaflowne – I must see this one.

Fishigi Yuugi – I’m embarrassed to reveal that I’ve not seen this series.

12 Kingdoms – I didn’t know this series was available.  I’ve heard many good reports of it.

Princess Tutu – the character designs were unappealing to me but maybe I should try it.

Little Snow Fairy Sugar –  I adore this series.

Vampire Princess Miyu – I want to see it but I’m not sure if it’s readily available.

NOT SHOJO

Inuyasha – I watched several of the early episodes and read several of the manga.

Stellvia – SF with a girl heroine – wow!  I’ll have to find it.

Someday’s Dreamers – This one is one my Q.  I have the first manga and a DVD of this series.

Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya – Great series.

Culture and Trends

Honey & Clover anime looks cute.  The characters are very appealing in color.

Shojo Beat On the Silver Screen

I want to see

  • Aishiteruze Baby
  • Baby & Me
  • Nana
  • Ouran High School Host Club
  • Ultra Maniac (I have seen this one – a lot of fun)
  • Vampire Knight

I want to see Toshokan Senso (Library War) too.

Spoilers – Series Comments

Preview: Fairy Cube by Kaori Yuki

Ian can see fairies but he is pressured by society to deny the truth of what he sees.  Only a former friend Rin still believes him and when he becomes trapped in the Fairyworld, she might be the only one who can save him.

Godchild was unique but confusing and with too much Gothic horror for me.  Angel Sanctuary was confusing and had a distasteful premise.  I also find it difficult to look at her artwork.  She has an ornate style that is just not appealing to me.

But Fairy Cube is different.  I think it is because fairies are my favorite kind of folklore character – I like the contrast between their beauty and their untrustworthy, mercurial natures.

I am intrigued by the attacks against the winged persons – it reminds me of Angel Island a little.  I do not suggest that Kaori Yuki is referencing Inez Haynes Gillmore’s book.  It’s just hard for me to think of chopped off wings and Ian’s father burning off his wing marks, and not think of that book.  I like the themes of repression, imagination, and friendship under pressure by social pressures.

Sand Chronicles

Ann goes home for summer vacation.

This is a chapter of dirty socks.   Ann finds Daigo’s pin-up mags.  The bit when she questions him in his taste in breasts and he involuntarily checks hers out was pretty funny.  Topped by her pouting face.

The fall out from Fujin’ s cherry tree kiss is addressed here – and to my delight – Daigo informs Ann that she was “50% more forward” than usual.  What does that even mean, Daigo?  Doesn’t excuse him for pressuring Ann but still funny.

Fujin and Shika”s grandmother is the awesome.  I’m sure she has horrible secrets but the ghost story was fun, especially since she set it up with Daigo.

Honey & Clover

chapter 15

Takemoto visits Hagu while she’s on her own.  Midori the non-cute poodle!  I’ve encountered dogs whose owners think are charming but display an instant hatred for visitors.  I completely love the panel in which Hagu and Takemoto are having tea and the poodles viciously grimaces toward Takemoto while still sporting a hair bow.

Chapter 16

The unrequited love polygon continues to gain sides.  Morita’s save of Yamada is very interesting more so to me than his brooch making efforts for Hagu.  Perhaps because I enjoyed the final conversation between Morita and Yamada.  These two might have the best relationship of the lot.

Haruka: Beyond the Stream of Time

The backstory of Fuji and her first meeting with Major General Tachibara. The princess Fuji’s ‘ character is developed a little in this chapter.  Major General Tachibara does seem a little detached – his only warm emotion is teasing the princess.  Lovely to look at – a gentle story of a first crush.

Crimson Hero

Yashin watches Nobara play for the Eagles. Yashin, “She looks so cute.  What should I do?”  I think this is endearing because I once had a conversation much like it.

Gaba Kawa

Rara comes to Earth from the Demon World intent on finding and wooing Akusawa, a demon of reknown.  This is a cute new series.  I like her fantasy vision of “The Demon World’s New Star Couple.”  I like her gloves.

Bibi – she’s amusing – a worthy rival to Rara.  Her minx look with the sparkles behind it – as she practices approaching Akusawa – made me smile.  Rara’s frowny-face completed it.

Retsu – facing the clubs violently importuning him – reminds me of Akane from Ranma 1/2. I like the side lock on Retsu.  I wonder what his big plan was to fling himself after Rara.  How was he expecting to safely rescue her? His beautification scene  is very beautiful.  I’d be mesmerized like Rara.  I like it that he takes time out of fighting to worry about her.

The reveal of Akusawa – the bug is weird.

Vampire Knight

Vampire bounty hunters are after Zero.  Yawn. It’s rather unnerving when one vampire scares another with his untamed powers.  Otherwise – boring chapter.

My Shojo Beat 2 years post.

Shojo Beat- January 2008 :: February 2008 :: March 2008 :: April 2008 :: May 2008 :: June 2008 :: July 2008 :: August 2008 :: September 2008 :: October 2008 :: November 2008 :: December 2008

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One thought on “Shojo Beat April 2008

Leave a Reply

