I’m not a fan of race car driving. It just doesn’t attract me much. While I was aware of Dale Earnhardt‘s death, I didn’t know much about his contribution to the sport.

This TV movie was made by ESPN. I’m guessing that the filmmakers assumed most of its viewers would be familiar with the sport and the story. The show was more about showcasing Earnhardt’s personality and his struggle to the top, and much less about exposition. This is not a flaw in the show, it just meant I didn’t get much out of it.

I enjoyed Sharyn McCrumb‘s Saint Dale more, though it’s not a straightforward biography of the man. It’s more of an explanation of why people care about car racing and why they cared so much for Dale Earnhardt.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

