The story of Johnny Cash’s career and his relationship with June Carter.

I watched this movie with my parents, and they were shocked that I didn’t recognize any of the songs.  I also didn’t know much about Cash.  For example, I had heard that he was called the ‘man in black’ but did not know why.

Obviously, this movie was educational for me.

This movie was better than the other biopics that I’ve been watching.  It’s worthwhile on its own merits.

Joaquin Phoenix plays Johnny Cash and Reese Witherspoon plays June Carter.  I don’t know how well they evoke their subjects but they seemed like real people. My first instinct was to react cynically because of the drug abuse and the sometimes unhealthy relationship between Carter and Cash.  I couldn’t though because the actors played through the cliches with a lot of pain and vulnerability.  I liked that they made mistakes and had work through them.

His story could have been dismal but it’s rather uplifting.

I don’t know if  the movie would be effective for fans but for people like me, it’s a must see.  I came away with a good amount of respect for the two singers.

Leave a Reply

