10 SF Books that should be Movies

Inspired by this post, I have made a list of 10 SF books that should be made into movies. When I worked out this list, I thought none of these books had been optioned.  I think Hyperion is in development but it hasn’t been made yet so I left it on the list.

Since I stopped reading science fiction after childhood, most of them are juvenile books. They also tend to wander into fantasy territory which allows me to justify my discussion of them.

Have Space Suit, Will Travel by Robert Heinlein

What: a boy wins a spacesuit in a contest; aliens abduct him.

What’s in it for me: I want to see smart people figuring their way of certain death – like Cube except they know who has them and why they must escape NOW.

A review.

21 Balloons by William Pene du Bois

What: man goes ballooning; crashes on bizarre island.

What’s in it for me: I want to see a somewhat modernized version of the  gizmos that the man encounters.

A summary.

Justice and Her Brothers by Virginia Hamilton

What: 3 kids try to understand their psi powers. 

What’s in it for me: They are super powered kids like the ones in Sky High but considerably more interesting. I like Justice, and I want to see her onscreen.

Hamilton’s book.

Pegasus in Flight by Anne McCaffrey

What: Parapsychic corporation hunts for abducted psionic kids.

What’s in it for me: I love psi powers and I could happily watch the X-Men do chores with their mutant powers for 2 hours. 

McCaffrey’s book.

Moonflash by Patricia McKillip

What: an unhappy girl seeks to learn the truth of the bright flash on the moon.

What’s in it for me: To see all the different cultures that Kyreol encounters would be enormously gratifying to me.

McKillip’s book.

Wonderful Flight to the Mushroom Planet by Eleanor Cameron

What: 2 boys build a spaceship for an eccentric old man.

What’s in it for me: The book is old-fashioned but I like the notion of 2 boys on an exciting ramble through space.

A review.

Invitation to the Game by Monica Hughes

What: Teens are invited to a mysterious VR game.

What’s in it for me: Immersive gameplay with sinister undertones – who wouldn’t like it?

A review.

Wolf Tower by Tanith Lee

What: servant girl escapes only to find herself drawn to the infamous Wolf Tower. 

What’s in it for me: I adore Claidi and I want to see her and the other amazing people and machines that she meets.

Annotated bibliography.

Ice Crown by Andre Norton

What: girl fights to free the people of Clio from mind control.

What’s in it for me: Roan was one of my favorite heroines and I’d like to see her in action.

Hyperion by Dan Simmons

What: Aliens are invited to a journey on space tree ship; they tell their life stories.

What’s in it for me: This be an utter shame if it weren’t filmed.

It’s a series description.

What do you think?  What book should or should not be on this list?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 thoughts on “10 SF Books that should be Movies

  1. Nice choices.
    I would also like to see some of those books made into movies, but who’s to say they wouldn’t dash all of your lovely images that you concocted in your head of the story? That is too easily done.

    If they did make it perfectly.
    What about Scott Corbett’s The Big Joke Game?? That is a really fun book, with many quirky characters.
    Did you know Amazon.com is selling copies of this ’77 book for $90+!!

  2. I didn’t know that Big Joke Game was going for so much. It is a good book though. I think I have that on my fantasy books that should be movies list. Great minds think alike.

    They will not be as good as my imagination, duh. But I think that books that are turned into movies last longer in print than ones that aren’t.

Leave a Reply

