I’m super busy today, so here’s what I’m entertaining myself with.

Books

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowlings.  I’m on chapter 10 and I’m being entertained.  It’s so big to carry around that I’m neglecting it a little.

Forever Odd by Dean Koontz. I haven’t actually started this one.  The last one was emotionally intense and I’m a little reluctant to start this one.

This Place Has No Atmosphere by Paula Danziger. I think I read the first chapter?  It’s a fluffy SF, so I should be able to finish it quickly once I start.

Ill Met By Moonlight by Sarah A. Hoyt.  I have had this in my TBR pile for several years.  It’s about Shakespeare and Fairies, and should be just perfect but I had a lot of trouble with it.

I showed it to my sister and told her how I was stuck.  She said that I should at least try to get past page 17.  I hadn’t realized how little I’d read.  In an instance of great irony, the author introduces the good stuff on page 18.  I’m on chapter 7 17 now and enjoying it very, very much.

Movies

Ultra Maniac. Anime. 7 volumes.  The final volume is due in this week.  It’s an OK magical girl story.  Sometimes the animation falters badly and some of the plots are boring.  The manga by Wataru Yoshizumi is  much better.

The Big Lebowski (1998).  I’ve seen it years ago and I wanted to see something funny.  It keeps getting bumped down my queue.  It’s due this week.

Iron Man (2008).  I ordered this to watch with friends but it’s not that high on my queue.

Kino’s Journey. Anime. 3 volumes.  I’ve just finished the first volume – this is amazing.  The artwork is delightful, the sound effects, the music, and the stories are first rate.  Animation for grownups (as opposed to anime made for kids, teens or the lascivious).


Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

