The Four Men in the Fiery Furnace.
Image via Wikipedia

The quality of this show has been improving.  The improvement is incremental, to be sure, but it is still evident.

Echo (Eliza Dushku)  undergoes an operation that makes her temporarily blind so that she may enter an isolated, cultish community.  As usual, she’s quickly put at a supreme disadvantage.  I wish the writers had been more creative with her blindness – she does a lot of staring in confusion at nothing.

Whedon predictably tackles religion again but he features a reading from Daniel, one of my favorite books of the Bible. The Bible reading was about the only entertainment I got from the main story.

I enjoyed the little touches like the bit of white in Pilgrim Echo’s hair.

The Agent Ballard (Tahmoh Penikett) storyline interested me for the first time.  For one thing, he’s catching up.  Secondly, I now I realize that his neighbor Mellie (Miracle Laurie) is a doll or something – and she’s beginning to amuse me.  Lastly, and best of all, is the new character Loomis (Aisha Hinds), I hope we see her again.  She seems a lot more grounded than Ballard.

I’m embarrassed to admit that my favorite part of the show was Topher (Fran Kranz) discovering another glitch in his perfect dolls.  All the incredibly dumb jokes made me grin.  It also gave Dr. Saunders (Amy Acker) some air time, and she’s not as pathetic as she appeared at first.  (Her scars are healing a bit more each week, of which I approve.)

It’s getting better.  There are bits of humor, however puerile.  Dimensions are being added to the characters.  There were more questions than answers at the end of this episode.

And next up is the hyped episode six “Man on the Street” which is supposed to be the good stuff.

episode 1 GHOSTS

episode 2 THE TARGET

episode 3 STAGE FRIGHT

episode 4 GRAY HOUR

episode 5 TRUE BELIEVER

episode 6 MAN ON THE STREET

episode 7 ECHOES

episode 8 NEEDS

episode 9 A SPY IN THE HOUSE OF LOVE

episode 10 HAUNTED

episode 11 BRIAR ROSE

episode 12 OMEGA

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

