Ladies of Missalonghi by Colleen McCullough

What:  A distressing medical diagnosis prompts a cinderella to live a little.

What’s in it for me:  I love that she secretly starts reading romance novels and ultimately takes over the town.  Awesome.

Brief description.

Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer

What:  A plain but lively girl asks a rich man to marry her to spare her older sisters.

What’s in it for me:  I love Heyer’s books and this one is my favorite.

Enthusiastic recommendation.

Lady Susan by Jane Austen

What: A conniving Lady Susan manipulates the romances of  various couples.

What’s in it for me:   I like ‘bad’ girls and it’s Jane Austen.

Brief description.

Minerva by Marion Chesney

What:  Beautiful girl devotes herself to caring for all her siblings, then she is sent to London for a season.

What’s in it for me:  I want to see that Minerva costume.

Reader reviews.

Mara, Daughter of the Nile by Eloise Jarvis McGraw

What:  Multi-lingual girl in Ancient Egypt is recruited as a spy.

What’s in it for me:  I’d like to see a story set in Ancient Egypt with a female protagonist.

Plot summary.

Forgotten Daughter by Caroline Dale Snedeker

What:  Young orphan girl in ancient Rome falls for nobleman’s son.

What’s in it for me:  I’d like to see a story set in Ancient Rome that doesn’t involve gladiators or wars.

Brief description.

Old Fashioned Girl by Louisa May Alcott

What:  A poor but virtuous girl goes to live with her wealthy, shallow cousins.

What’s in it for me:  I love the proposal in the hallway with all the galoshes.  *sigh*

A bit of history.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

