There has been a lot of talk of the Buffy the Vampire Slayer movie in development.  You’d think fans of the franchise would be delighted…but there’s a catch.  Joss Whedon will not be involved.  Nor will any of the cast from the television series.

I’ve been reading comments and blog posts about this.  It’s interesting.  Some ridicule the idea; some are cautiously hopeful.  Some plan to boycott the movie; some enjoyed the first movie and think this one will be fine.  A few dislike Whedon and are eager to embrace a Whedon-less Buffy.  It’s all a little premature though, since the projected release date is not till 2012.

But I understand.  It’s hard not to speculate.

  • The first film by Fran Kuzui did OK at the box office but it wasn’t a critical success.
  • Whedon’s TV version was both influential and lauded.
  • Kuzui hasn’t directed a film since the Buffy movie (17 years ago).
  • Whedon’s feature film Serenity based on his series Firefly bombed.
  • The movie premiered in 1992: a lot of the target audience weren’t born then.
  • The TV series ended in 2003, and again, many movie goers won’t have seen it.
  • Fans of the movie will probably make a point to see it.
  • Fans of the TV series will probably be curious.

All in all, a remake is probably the right move.

If you think of it in terms of the Star Wars franchise, a remake without the people who made the TV show seems reasonable.  See, The Phantom Menace was more successful than The Empire Strikes Back in terms of box office.  Whedon and company would just add intelligence and heart to the project, and who needs that?  Certainly not USA cinema.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
35 thoughts on “Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2012)

  1. As a big fan of the tv show (the movie was ok) I’ll probably will see thevnew movie but i’m not expecting much.

  2. I agree that the movie was OK, light and cute. I think that the advantage the new movie will have over both is in the special effects department. The vampires should look super cool and the Slayer can look super tough. That’s probably all the movie needs to succeed.

    I would say that I plan to boycott it on principle. But I’m getting tired of big Hollywood movies in general and I’ll probably skip it out of apathy.

  3. i would like to see what they do with the remake. i wold have loved if they had got the tv cast back together. becuase no matter how well a tv show ends there are always loose ends that need to be tied up. for the sake of some fans who want to know what happends not think about what could happen after a show ends.

  4. I would like to see the cast together again. I’ve determined not to see it but if it gets good reviews, I might watch it.

  5. i’m 14 and i’ve seen ever ep of buffy.the old film i thought kinda sucked.anyway if the’re making a new film the should bring the cast back together it would be great to see them all back in action.even though the film probably wont be better then the series i will go see it as i’m very curious to see what they’ve done to it

  6. ps;they should definitely bring joss whedon to the film as he was there from the film of buffy to the series of it so why shouldhe stop now??i’m sure he’ll make the film the best that it can be =]

  7. Yeah, curiosity will probably win out for most Buffy fans when or if the new movie is made. There must still be a lot of bad feeling between the owners of the franchise (Kuzui et al.) and the creator (Whedon). Because if Whedon were to be on the project, he’d at least bring along his fan base.

  8. i was so excited to hear about a new buffy movie, i only saw the buffy sierise summer of 2007 but since then i have seen it littealy 10 times. i love every thing buffy related some people think i’m insane for all the bufffy refrences i make ( i even named my cat anyanka…and i put a diffeant buffy phrase up on a dry erase bord in my hallway every week, this week is “i ran. i think i made it through three counties before i relised no one was chasing me.” – cordelia)any how i think the point i’m trying to make is i will see the new buffy movie and although i do not have high hopes i am looking forward to hearing the words buffy the vampire slayer on tv again

  9. I like Anyanka as a cat name. She’d probably be flattered too. I see your point, that’s good to see Buffy back in any form. But I still have reservations because I don’t want to be disappointed in it.

  10. there should be no “new buffy”; the tv series was the real one, it wasn’t just a “soap” it was an amazing show and story line, there was a lot more to it then just drama, especially in the last seasons the storyline got more indepth and meaningfull then i’ve ever seen in a tv show;
    the series also left a lot of unanswered questions such as who buffy ends up with: angel or spike (i’ve personally always felt that angel and buffy are meant to be together, especially after the episode in angel season 1 when angel becomes human but gives it up because there is more he is meant to do and buffy will end up dead if he does stay human, but his destiny is to one day have a happy ending as a human -expressed in a prophicy)
    therefor i believe a movie would be great as long as it has the same storyline and actors as the tv show, even if joss whedon won’t do it –
    it could still be great

  11. I’m Spuffy person myself but I don’t deny the classic angst of the Angel and Buffy relationship.

    I’m not sure that they will get the actors from the TV show but they might have a good script. I never expected to enjoy the recent Star Trek movie but I did very much.

    The nub is that that I am more of a Whedon fan than I am a Buffy fan. To me – no matter how good the movie will be – it could have only been better with his creative influence.

  12. This sounds horrible….yea take out the one person that made Buffy a success (Joss) Many of the Actors of the TV series stated the only way they’ll do a movie is if Joss is involved. So wouldn’t it make sense to bring Joss on board? Then you already have millions of fans (of the show) that will for sure see the film before you even make it. This securing it will do decent if not very well. I don’t flippin get it, doing it anyother way will make the movie a piece of crap like the original film. I won’t see it if Joss and the original cast isn’t involved. I’m sorry…its just not Buffy without them.

  13. I agree with you. Joss (especially) and the TV cast are what makes it Buffy. All I can think is that they are figuring that there are more people who haven’t heard of Buffy than there are people who care about the TV show.

    It’s depressing either way.

  14. wow. you actually think the star wars remakes were better? just cuz they made more money? think about the economics of the times each were released. u suck. seriously.. u suck.. do ur homework.

    and whedon was responsible for the movie Buffy AND the series….douche bag….

  15. I was playing Devil’s advocate but I seem to have been more convincing than I intended.

    It is true that Empire Strikes Back has made more money than Phantom Menace when adjusted for inflation but it has also received multiple releases. On its initial release, the returns for Empire were a bit disappointing but eventually Lucas made a profit.

    On the other hand, Phantom Menace wins the opening Wednesday box office according to Boxoffice Mojo. So, it was successful on its release, financially speaking.

    Artistically Phantom Menace was a travesty. Everyone knows that, which is why I was using it as an example.

    Whedon was indeed responsible for the TV series Buffy. However, it’s commonly known that the director Kuzui and writer Whedon disagreed over the changes she made to his script.
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0103893/trivia?tr0618341
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0103893/trivia?tr0618343

    The script writer does not have the same degree of control over the film that the director does. It happens fairly often that the screenplay and the final film are dissimilar.

  16. Hated the movie…LOVE the show! If they make a Buffy movie, they need to bring all the characters back. Please don’t base it on the original movie…it sucked! I love Buffy so much I named my dog after her….

  17. I would have to be really wowed by the casting choices in order to watch the movie, or else see it on someone else’s dime (ie, I’m not paying to watch it.) I don’t know that I could really handle seeing anyone but SMG as Buffy. I know she’s not “young” enough by the standards of the people looking to remake the original film, but the majority of fans that watched the series did so while they themselves were in high school. It’s for that reason that I don’t want to see Buffy being younger. The character has the same birth year as me. I’ve matured. Why would I want to see a teenager just being introduced to that world now? I’d be much more invested in Buffy having to deal with the same thing she did on the series – balancing her “normal” life with slaying. Maybe this time as a mom. Maybe not. But I feel that it should be a decision for Joss Whedon to make, not people looking to capitalize on fame brought about by a bunch of preteen girls that don’t understand that Edward Cullen is not a tragic hero, he’s a deeply disturbed individual, vampire or otherwise.

  18. I think Buffy as a mother would definitely up the tension for the movie. I think the audience would root for her to save her kid.

    Actually, I wish they’d do the story of another slayer. Perhaps one of the other potentials who was never found or something like that.

    Edward is not tragic so much as self-pitying, I think. Carlisle is far more interesting really. The struggle between violence and compassion that he chooses to confront every day.

  19. I think having a BtVS movie without the cast and Joss is a terrible idea. The series was at its highest when it was on and the people who were fans (like me) were fans because we loved the show. If there is a movie now, all of the fans would think its wrong and I feel that the only reason teens would like it because of the whole vampire craze now with twilight. They wouldn’t like it for what it really is.. er, was.

  20. im only like 13 but ive been watching buffy since i can remember, and ive realy grown to it, and i agree that the new film will be as bad as the old one or if not worse, but their isnt going to be much piont in this film to the fans simperly because everyone is used to the old cast, and the old story lines, and if this film is brought out and its just totaly diffrent to what where used to, fans are going to reject it and the audince of this film is sposed to be for the orignal buffy fans soo why take away everything we know about the show and turn it into something completely to what its sposed to be :/

  21. It seems as though the film is not happening anytime soon [http://www.fusedfilm.com/2010/06/vanessa-hudgens-could-have-been-new-vampire-slayer-in-buffy-reboot-sarah-michelle-gellar-was-also-going-to-return/] which is probably for the best.

  22. Hollywood took Whedons idea and made it a movie. They did not listen to Joss and they made a mess of it. Joss made it a tv show and it was wonderful. Now, Hollywood is trying it again, without Whedon. When will they learn? I am a HUGE fan but I will not see the movie if Whedon is not involved. He truly is a talented man.

  23. well this is at best a tragedy. that being said i would like to put my self forward as a candidate for the next buffy! it’s going to be horrible no matter who they cast so they may as well cast a buffy freak who briefly cosidered faking cancer so she could be on that wish list thing and make them make a buffy movie. my morals got in the way.

  24. THAT’S FRIGGIN RETARDED. If they don’t have the original cast from the series, and Joss Whedon then they’re screwed. No one’s gonna wanna watch it. The only people who will watch it, are the non-fans. Who don’t care, even if it’s cheezy and retarded. Seriously. Only a true Buffy fan, would block that from there universe, I can’t believe this; this is retarded. There is really no point in making it without: Joss Whedon, and The ORIGINAL Cast, and if the cast is willing to participate I think you should bring them in; instead of having compleatley different people.

    P.S. A True Buffy Fan. 😀

    P.P.S This Idea sucks Ass, bring Joss, and The cast back!

  25. Nice to meet you, TBF! I agree that only people who don’t know about the TV show will enjoy it completely. I’m pretty much planning on staying away from it.

  26. the first movie was horrid absolutely horrid. when i saw that there was going to be a remake and that joss wasn’t going to be a part of it i thought”hm OK if its a good director who will stay true to joss’ creation I will watch it hesitantly.” but now that i find that it is the same directors from the fist time around, no freaking way am i going to watch this thing. mostly because they are snubbing joss and pulling the same shenanigans as last time around… no way. I have a feeling they will ruin this just like they did the first time round.. if this thing is even close to successful i am going to be upset. its not right.. and i have a feeling it might be with the vamp craze that’s come around these last few years.. i mean look at twilight, the movies are hits.. and they are not good..

  27. Yeah, non-lightning will likely hit twice for that team, if I may completely garble my metaphor. Actually, you’d think we would be near the end of the vampire craze but people keep, uh, raising the vampire from the dead.

  28. It will not be the same. The crew is the reason I watched the show. Why ruin that for the ones that love the cast and director!

  29. I kind of feel like they want to shut out the fans of the old show. Maybe they think that there are way more non-fans than fans. It’s a mystery.

  30. I liked the movie but absolutely loved the series. As much as I’d love to see the original tv actors in the movie…realistically, they are all too old now. Cameo appearances would be good though. I would love to see a remake. They remade Batman with Christian Bale with a different feel altogether compared to the older movies and that was great! Would be nice if Joss was involved but, does he even want to be? I say, bring it on! More Buffy please!

  31. I’ll grant you Batman Begins/Dark Knight and Star Trek as examples of successful reboots . I’ll also grant you that the series actors are too old and probably don’t want to return to the show (‘specially Sarah Michelle Gellar with her new show RINGER!!!).

    Since Joss is busily making comic book versions of Buffy, I think he’s still interested in that particular world. I seriously doubt that the ghost writers have the wit or the heart to play with Whedon’s toys. If Whit Anderson is truly writing it, then pigs will be flying past her window.

    As I’ve said before, the reboot might be successful. It will not be good.

Comments are now closed.