These are all gentle stories of the every day life of families.  They are old-fashioned and charming.

Baby Island by Carol Ryrie Brink

What: 2 girls are shipwrecked on a island with 4 babies.  Robinson Crusoe for the tween set.

What’s in it for me:  An updated version on a pretty island with lots of cute toddlers would be so much fun.

BookAngles

Wikipedia

The Moffats by Eleanor Estes

What: Set during World War I, children of single mom get into scrapes.

What’s in it for me:  I like sweet family adventures and this one is still relevant.

Wikipedia

Homespun Light

Key to the Treasure by Peggy Parish

What: 3 kids investigate family mystery by solving puzzles.

What’s in it for me:  I love treasure hunting and they could use all kinds of gadgets to update it.

Book Lounge

Henry Reed’s Journey by Keith Robertson

What:   Teenage boy on family vacation across America gets in scrapes.

What’s in it for me:  Travelogue and wacky situations – just the ticket.

Wikipedia on the character Henry Reed

Henry Reed series

Betsy-Tacy by Maud Hart Lovelace

What:  Turn of the century life for 3 girls and their strong friendship.

What’s in it for me:  I think this would make a lovely TV series like Anne of Green Gables.

Betsy – Tacy Society

Wikipedia

Fan Site

All of a Kind Family by Sidney Taylor

What:  Another turn of the century family in NYC.

What’s in it for me:   I identified completely with these sisters and want to see them portrayed by actresses.

Tenement Museum

Many Moons by James Thurber

What:  A small princess wishes for the moon.

What’s in it for me:  This would make a lovely animated short.

Wikipedia

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

