Very little nonfiction taken in this month. I was surprised by how touched I was by Bourdain’s food book. Makes me want to look up his other books.  I’ve read several of Cameron’s artist way books but I like this one the best. The exercises are streamlined and the essays are enjoyable.

  1. The Apron Book: Making, Wearing and Sharing a bit of Cloth and Comfort by EllynAnne Geisel (2006)
  2. No Reservations: Around the World on an Empty Stomach by Anthony Bourdain (2007)
  3. The Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell (2008)
  4. The World’s Best Indoor Games by Brandeth Gyles (1982)
  5. Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year ed. by Charles Brooks (2008)
  6. Right to Write: An Invitation and Initiation into the Writing Life by Julia Cameron (1998)

Here is my picture book and juvenile book list. This month I’ve been trying to read Newbery Award winners.  I was disappointed by Tale of Despereaux – far too precious for my taste.  Midwife’s Apprentice was much better than Cushman’s other book, Catherine, Called Birdy. Midwife’s Apprentice was highly enjoyable.  I liked Walk Two Moons and A Year Down Yonder too.  The Higher Power of Lucky is the type of book I avoided at all costs as child and teen.  Pointless story and vapid characters.  The Gammage Cup was a satire a genre which I don’t usually enjoy.  This one was fun.

    1. The Gammage Cup by Carol Kendall (1959)
    2. Three Little Pigs by James Marshall (1989)
    3. Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid #1 by Megan MacDonald (2005)
    4. Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo (2006)
    5. The Midwife’s Apprentice by Karen Cushman (1996)
    6. The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron (2008)
    7. A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck (2002)
    8. A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park (2003)
    9. Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech (1996)
    10. The Sleeping Beauty by Trina Schart Hyman (1977)
    11. Happily-Ever-After Book by Jack Kent (1976)

Mostly read fun stuff for my YA and adult books.  Their Eyes Were Watching God surprised me by how much it delighted me.  I’d read experts and critiques which made it seem like a dry and miserable reading.  It’s actually fresh and charming.  The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian reminds me of talking to some people with horrific childhoods.  They make you laugh and then later the sheer tragedy of their story startles you into tears.  Good book.  I’m glad there is a sequel.

    1. The Marquis Takes a Bride by Marion Chesney (1987)
    2. Sweet Masquerade by Marion Chesney (1984)
    3. First Comes Marriage by Mary Balogh (2009)
    4. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston (1937)
    5. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie (2007)
    6. The Maze in the Heart of the Castle by Dorothy Gilman (1999)

Interview with Sherman Alexie about Amazon’s Kindle.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

