I am dense.

After my post on the news that L. J. Smith’s Vampire Diaries is coming to television, I got a lot of comments on the casting.  One of the issues brought up is why the main character Elena was not cast as a blonde for the TV show.  I was puzzled because I thought blondes were the it girls in Hollywood too.

But then I realized this:

Vampire Diaries, Elena in graveyard
Elena, Vampire Diaries

Bella Swan
Bella, Twilight

Mystery solved.

Another thing that irritates me is much of the material on Vampire Diaries outright saying that it is another version of Twilight. (TVsquad, beyond hollywood).   The producers are on riding Twilight‘s cape but I am still irritated.

L. J. Smith published the books in 1991.  It seems that Meyer only had the dream in 2003 and the first book was published in 2005.  Moreover, most pretty-pretty vampire stories are just watered-down versions of Anne Rice’s vampire talesTwilight is more of a blanched vegetable version.

I remember a young person writing on a forum that she’d read Meyer’s series and asking, in sum, if there were any other stories with a  vampire mythos.

Part of me thinks this is (very) funny but it’s a little sad too.  She’s missing out a lot. Fans could go a long time and not run out of vamp books to read.

I may break down and find a time line of pretty-pretty vampires in books.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “Issues with Vampire Diaries

  1. “I remember a young person writing on a forum that she’d read Meyer’s series and asking, in sum, if there were any other stories with a vampire mythos.”

    Oh Buffy and Angel, we hardly knew ye.

  2. Too right.

    It worries me a lot that a new (Whedon-free) Buffy movie might be successful, if nobody knows any better. *sigh*

  3. I have found this site where you can watch the vampire diaries online with good quality and its buffer free at *****

Leave a Reply

