Not the man in the white suit

I tried watching Alec Guiness in The Man in the White Suit (1951) for my science fiction movie project a few days ago. It’s much more a satire on economics than it is a science fiction film. The movie is short – about an hour and 25 minute but I didn’t make it to the end.

I replaced it with Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956) – which I haven’t seen but I am assured is a very good movie. I’m looking forward to it.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 thoughts on “Not the man in the white suit

  1. I read the book too – it was one of my favorites for awhile. There is a 1970s movie version too but I thought I’d go with the older one.

    Any suggestions for sci-fi movie?

  2. Sorry about the delay on answering. I tried yesterday, but my response ran a little long. I have a little rule that states if the reply looks like a blog post, it should be a blog post and not a reply. Which was something I had to <a href="http://welltuncares.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/top-ten-greatest-science-fiction-flicks/"get out of the way mentally before I did anything else.

    While you can check out my site for a more verbose statement, let me give a quick list, ignoring a couple of the more obvious: Quatermass and the Pit (first released in the States as Five Million Years to Earth), The Thing From Another World, Forbidden Planet, The Monolith Monsters, and This Island Earth.

    I just realized. None of those are modern films. I didn’t think of one modern film to put on either list. of that group I think Serenity and maybe The Fifth Element.

    I’d say more, but we’re reaching blog post level… 🙂

  3. I added Thing from Another World and the Monolith Monsters to my list, Thanks. I’d never heard of the Monolith Monsters but I like the premise.

    I like Serenity and Fifth Element a lot too. I tried to think of fairly recent SF that I liked but they tend to be grim: Strange Days, 12 Monkeys and Sunshine.

Leave a Reply

