Movies I watched in September 2009

The Losers:

Push I did not like.  It had an interesting premise:  youth with psi powers fight against a shadowy international organization that wishes to enhance their skills and use them as special agents or warriors.  However, the plot threads were left hanging about a third of the way through.  The finale was thoroughly unsatisfying.

Nights in Rodanthe was unwatchable and maudlin.  Schultze Gets the Blues – was somewhere described as a rollicking comedy but failed in both respects. The volume of My Name is Earl had less humor than usual.  Primer was a disappointment – such potential squandered.   Lost in Austen annoyed me.The anime The Girl Who Leapt Through Time was lovely but one viewer renamed it ‘the girl who crawled through time’ as it was a bit slow moving.

The Winners:

Very much enjoying Lie to Me and Tim Roth’s performance.  It’s apparently based on real studies.  The real people images that pop up to demonstrate emotions are the best part.  I don’t how it holds up as the seasons wear on but that was a good beginning.

Castle of Cagliostro was a delightful caper movie.  It’s a bit old fashioned in the animation style but still light years ahead in sophistication.  A real treat for caper fans or animation fans.

Death Note is a live action Japanese film based on a manga.  It was a nice puzzle and I’ve rented the sequel.    Waitress was charming/disturbing and I’ve long been distressed by story of the director Adrienne Shelly‘s murder. I’d seen Cry-Baby before but it was a treat to watch it again.  The Bachelor and the Bobbysoxer was cute and one of the few Cary Grant movies I haven’t seen.  Roman Holiday lived up to its reputation.  King of Kong gave an interesting look at the arcade gaming subculture, although  I’ve read reviews that state it was biased.   I liked The Prestige a lot and plan to review it for my science fiction project.

  1. Lie to Me 1:1
  2. Castle of Cagliostro (1979)
  3. Push (2009)
  4. Nights in Rodanthe (2008)
  5. Schultze Gets the Blues (2003)
  6. Lie to Me 1:2
  7. Death Note (2006)
  8. My Name is Earl 3:3
  9. Waitress (2007)
  10. Cry-Baby (1990)
  11. Primer (2004)
  12. Lost in Austen (2008)
  13. Bachelor and the Bobbysoxer (1947)
  14. Roman Holiday (1953)
  15. King of Kong (2007)
  16. The Prestige (2006)
  17. The Girl Who Leapt Through Time (2006)
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 thoughts on “Movies I watched in September 2009

  1. Hi Aiden,

    Castle of Cagliostro was one of those movies that I was reluctant to watch because it was praised so much. And now I have to buy a copy and inflict it on all my friends.

    P. S. I’m enjoying your reviews.

Leave a Reply

