Movies I watched in October 2009

Cover of "Carnival Of Souls (1962 Film)"
Cover of Carnival Of Souls (1962 Film)

I watched a lot of documentaries about horror movies to not disturb my housemates.  It was a satisfying experiment, I think.  I might try it again next year.  I was most pleased by Heroes of Horror which was on Peter Lorre and Vincent Price.  I plan to get the first volume in the series.  I also enjoyed Fantastic Flesh which was on film makeup in various movies.  Dark Dreamers was poorly constructed and dull.

The spooky movies I watched were Trick r Treat, Kakurenbo, and Carnival of SoulsKakurenbo looked beautiful but the story was too thin for me.  I could only watch Trick r Treat in short bursts and while I liked it, I want to watch it again in one piece next time.  Carnival was surprisingly entertaining though it fell apart at the very end.  Beautiful location shot of carnival/spa and lovely black and white photography.

I’m watching a number of TV series:  No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency is pure pleasure.  Cadfael was not to my taste.  Castle is enjoyable fluff.  I enjoyed MST3K’s version of Touch of Satan but Zombie Nightmare was less enjoyable.

Laura’s Star and Kakurenbo were well-animated.  Laura’s Star was especially beautiful, and worth seeing for the visuals alone.  Both movies had rather thin stories.

Finally saw Trip to the Moon in its entirety.

  1. No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency 1:1
  2. Laura’s Star (2004)
  3. Help! (1965)
  4. Haunted History of Halloween (1997)
  5. Kakurenbo: Hide and Seek (2005)
  6. Cadfael: One Corpse too Many (1994)
  7. Dark Dreamers 1:1
  8. Trip to the Moon (1902)
  9. Heroes of Horror 2
  10. Twitches (2005)
  11. No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency 1:2
  12. Trick r Treat (2009)
  13. Harryhausen Chronicles (1998)
  14. Bride of Monster Mania (2000)
  15. Bloodsucking Cinema (2007)
  16. MST3K: Touch of Satan (1971)
  17. Fantastic Flesh (2008)
  18. Carnival of Souls (1962)
  19. Labyrinth (1986)
  20. Monster Mania (1997)
  21. MST3K: Zombie Nightmare (1986)
Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

