DSC_4528
Image by Spec_J via Flickr
  1. Steamboy (2004)
  2. Castle 1:1
  3. Wedding Peach 1:1
  4. The THING from Another Planet (1951)
  5. Intolerable Cruelty (2003)
  6. House 2:2
  7. Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations 1:1
  8. Hammish Macbeth 2:1
  9. No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency 3
  10. The Thing (1982)
  11. Never Been Kissed (1999)
  12. Grosse Pointe Blank (1997)
  13. One Crazy Summer (1986)

Steamboy had some good animation both of people and of machines.  It was a bit too mecha for me but still well-done.

Castle is a frothy mystery series.  I like it because I like Nathan Fillion but the mysteries are not so good.

Wedding Peach is a clone of Sailor Moon and my nieces enjoyed it.

Thing from Another Planet – worth watching – here’s my take.

Intolerable Cruelty – George Clooney and Catherine Zeta Jones are hot together and it’s a good farce.

House M.D. – have I mentioned before that I thoroughly dislike Dr. Cameron.  I do.  Hugh Laurie as House makes up for it. All the other characters are fun and fun together.  I still check Polite Dissent to learn about the medicine in the show.

No Reservations – Bourdain went to New Jersey and to Paris.  He really had issues with Jersey, so that was less pleasant.  He loves Paris, though.  I liked the trip to the market best.

Hammish Macbeth – no my favorite series but then I don’t much care for the books by M. C. Beaton.

No. 1. Ladies Detective Agency – Must see. Superb in every aspect.  Jill Scott and Anika Noni Rose are wonderful.

The Thing – I was disappointed in this movie.  The special effects were OK but the characterization and the story were lacking.  Plus, the end was not nearly grim enough for me.

Never Been Kissed – Not much to it but it is a sweeter movie than I had remembered.

Grosse Pointe Blank – I had forgotten how much fun this movie is.  I must own it.

One Crazy Summer – The cartoon shorts are better than I remembered and the rest of it is less compelling than I remembered.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
2 thoughts on “Movies I Watched in November 2009

  1. I think I saw them too closely together. I liked the original so much I should waited before seeing Carpenter’s movie. I might watch it again later to see if I can be more objective about it.

Leave a Reply

