I’m reading My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.

My mother highly recommended it.  She says she likes Picoult’s books because they are about ethical issues.

When I told her was reading Keeper at last, she mentioned I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.  Years ago I read it and kept suggesting it to my mother.  Last year, she finally read it and then went on an Angelou reading binge.  I smirked a lot.  My mother appears to be preparing to be unbearably smug about Picoult.

Why I’m capitulating now is partly because there’s a movie version and partly because my sister ordered me to.  She’s nearly done and wants to discuss it.

It is engrossing.  I wonder why the parents never joined any kind of support group during the years that they struggled with their daughter’s illness. Other than that, it’s like watching a daytime talk show.  Well, a daytime talk show with an uneffusive host and articulate guests.

This Island Earth (1955)

This was on my science fiction movie project.  While watching it, I remembered that I had attempted it years before but found it dull.  It’s a classic film in the genre but it’s still dull.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

