As You Like It (2006 film)
Image via Wikipedia

Watched Kenneth Branagh’s As You Like It (2006), or at least most of it.   It was a set in 19th Century Japan. The movie wasn’t good.  I am most disappointed with him.

Short list of reasons for which I disliked it:

Why was there such a shortage of people of Japanese heritage in the cast?

What was the point of the violent beginning?

Why did Orlando fight a Sumo wrestler?

Why was Duke Frederick psychotic?

Why couldn’t Branagh think of a different finale?

A shorter list of reasons for which I liked it:

The costumes were very pretty.

Getting back to Branagh and my disappointment with him…

Love’s Labour’s Lost (2000) with Alicia Silverstone was abysmal too.

He is a good actor, and I particularly liked him in Rabbit Proof Fence (2002).  His directing tends to be uneven though. Although I liked his too-long Hamlet (1996), a lot of his later efforts failed to please me. To be fair, I haven’t seen his take on The Magic Flute (2006) or seen Sleuth (2007).

I loved his Henry V (1989), Dead Again (1991) and Much Ado About Nothing (1993) but he did those when Emma was with him.  I wonder if there’s any correlation.

Maybe it’s just that I’m a bigger fan of hers than his.  I’ve followed Thompson’s career with unabated appreciation.  I really liked her in Stranger Than Fiction (2006).

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

