Books
Image via Wikipedia

More sharing from my bookmarks:

Researchers polled men and women were polled on their favorite or “watershed” books.  They were apparently surprised that men read books written by men and women read books written by men and by women.  I thought this was sort of a truism.

Here is an article with the men’s list at the bottom.  The Hobbit, Lord of the Rings and To Kill a Mockingbird are favorites of mine but the rest of them not so much.

This is the companion article on women’s reading.  Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre were important to me and are still favorites.

More articles about the study .

I wonder if they avoided selecting an homogenized group of subjects.  Did their subjects come from different age groups, different cultural groups, and varying levels of education?  That might make quite a difference in the titles people chose.

Also,  it seems odd to me that more popular and more modern works were not listed.  I wonder if somehow the researchers impressed upon their subjects that the results should be both literary and well known.  ‘Cause I know that all kinds of shoddy and obscure books affected me as a child and teen.

Someone needs to do another study.

2 thoughts on “Guy Books/Girl Books

  1. Hmmm, I’m a female but I liked quite a few on both lists… books about alienation are interesting to me too (I didn’t like “The Great Gatsby” on first read, but it definitely grew on me…) as well as romance (“Pride and Prejudice” has got to be one of the best romances ever written…).

  2. A professor of mine once said The Great Gatsby was the most assigned book in high school. I confess I’ve never read it. Perhaps I should make the attempt.

Leave a Reply

