Daydreaming gentleman in 1912
Image via Wikipedia

I was stuck for a topic for “D” when my sister suggested D for daydreaming.

I looked up information about daydreaming – people are mostly supportive of it but they weren’t always.  I remember being scolded a lot by adults about daydreaming or even appearing to be distracted.

James Thurber is a favorite of mine and his Secret Life of Walter Mitty is my second* favorite story of his.  Mitty is a loser who constantly disappoints his wife: he drives too fast,  he can’t put chains on his car, and he forgets the grocery list. Still, and all, he’s a fun loser.  I wonder,  if he would share some of his inner life with his wife, would she be more accepting of him.  Maybe he’s tried.

Chuck Jones made a couple of cartoons with a child Mitty which were just as hilarious and his teacher was more long-suffering than annoyed with him.  Unlike Mitty, the boy got to go in space and have lots of more action-packed adventures.  (Note:  if anyone knows the names of these cartoons, please let me know.)

I read a bit about daydreaming and it is seen as somewhat beneficial now.  Bet you that wool-gatherers are still scolded regularly.

While I was pondering how to go about describing how much fun daydreaming was, I realized something.  I was hardly ever daydreaming.  The most I might do is run through my day’s plans to make sure I have everything I need before I leave for work.

And I think it must the suggestion but I’ve been daydreaming a lot lately.  I’ve been remembering great parties, imagining my future, and traveling in fantasy lands.  Best of all is having conversations with fictional characters.

I figure that when they aren’t busy with their official lives, my favorite characters like Aerin or Sookie** or Chuck would want to sit down and chat with me.  Of course they would.

Sometimes I complain about a bad day and they nod sympathetically or I “tell” them about this great movie I just saw, and they usually agree that they liked it too.

Mostly though, they serve as a sounding board while I’m working out various philosophical questions. For example, “how are horror movies valuable to society” or  “in this situation, how much do I owe myself and how much do I owe the other person.”  They very helpfully take the opposing side and help me sort it out.

*my all-time favorite James Thurber story is The Night the Bed Fell.

**Kat pointed out that Sookie reads minds so I wouldn’t have to do much talking.

4 thoughts on “D is for Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

