Ned (Pushing Daisies)
Image via Wikipedia

I once saw a t-shirt that read:  Theatre is life.  Cinema is art.  Television is furniture.  I can’t speak for theater, since I rarely indulge.  But for the last 5 years at least, cinema has been forgotten takeout and television has been freshly baked bread.

More and more, I find that I give mainstream feature films 15 minutes (and that’s far too kind) before I turn them off.

I have returned to older films from 1930 to 1970 for enjoyable movies.  Most of them are competent and some are downright delightful.

I am also turning to non-English language films.  At least, if they disappoint me, it’ll be in a different way.

But my big treat has been fiction TV shows.  Some of my favorites:  My Name is Earl (at least the first and third seasons); Veronica Mars (season one);  House M.D. (season one); The Closer (all pretty good); Castle (season two way better than season one);  Chuck (mostly because of Zachary Levi/Adam Baldwin/Sarah Lancaster); and PUSHING DAISIES (this was good.)

I have never been much of a short film watcher but the intranets have been curing me.  One  short  at a time.  If you know of any others, please, please let me know.

So, here I am 8 years later.  Reading back through the list is like reading a diary.  It brings back a lot of memories.  I wanted to have something philosophical to say about how watching films changes a person or something but  I don’t have that kind of wisdom.  I do know that my life has been richer for them.

Streaming

  • In the Realms of the Unreal – I am fascinated by paracosms.
  • Castle of Cagliostro – very good.
  • Angel season 1
  • Dollhouse season 1 – painful
  • Spiral
  • Shades of Ray
  • Keven Smith: Too Fat for Forty – very good.

2011

  1. Princess Tam Tam
  2. Final Fantasy: Advent Children
  3. The Apartment
  4. You Were Never Lovelier
  5. Thomas Crown Affair
  6. Perfect Blue – good but his later Paprika is better.
  7. Emmanuelle
  8. Pushing Daisies 2:1
  9. The Ugly Truth
  10. Megamind – fun.
  11. Crime Traveller 2
  12. Mostly Martha
  13. Libeled Lady
  14. Pushing Daisies 2:2
  15. Spectacular!
  16. M – excellent.
  17. Castle 2:1
  18. Cirque du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant – I enjoyed John C. Reilly.
  19. Pushing Daisies 2:3
  20. Pushing Daisies 2:4
  • TV Meme (moonlitgarden.wordpress.com)
Leave a Reply

