My Halloween playlist is meant for atmosphere, not dancing.

I call it Children of the Night.  See?  You had to finish the quotation didn’t you?

I didn’t put in Thriller or Monster Mash, although I like those songs. I did put in Steven Wonder’s Superstitious ’cause it’s too good not to.  Here’s hoping you’ll find at least one new song to add to your own playlist.

Welcome to My Nightmare – Alice Cooper.

Cooper offers a charming invitation and kind of a nice way to ease into the seasonal mood.  Earworm:  “A nocturnal vacation/unnecessary sedation”

All You Zombies – The Hooters

Not about Halloween but it’s a catchy anti-zombie anthem.  Earworm:  “holy Moses on the mountain/high above the golden calf”

Wolf Moon – Type O Negative

Creepy song with spooky lyrics.  Earworm:  “unholy water/sanguine addiction”

Bloodletting – Concrete Blonde

It just sounds so jaded.  Earworm: ” you were a vampire/and baby I’m walking dead”

Whispers in the Dark – Skillet

Not about Halloween but I like it and the lyrics sound a little creepy if you are perverse about it.  Mostly I like the NOOOOO! part.  Earworm: “my love is a burning/consuming fire”

Blood, Milk and Sky – White Zombies

Excellent disturbing  song. Earworm:  [I can’t figure out what they’re saying.]

This is Halloween – Marilyn Manson

Even you’re a purist, you’ve got to like this version a bit.  It’s so jolly.  Earworm:  [whole thing]

Vampire with a Healthy Appetite – Steve Hackett

I’m puzzled by this song.  Does serial killing make him sleepy?  Anyway, the gravely refrain is fine holiday fun. Earworm: “You stay awake half the night”

Shivers Down My Spine – King Khan and the Shrines

Goofy –  😀   Earworm: “She bites me square on the back waaaaooh!/I said hey baby what the hell”

I Put a Spell on You – Jay Hawkins

I got the 2 minute version where he does this growling, snorting thing at the end.  It cracks me up.  Earworm: “And I don’t care/If you don’t want me/I’m yours/right now”

Superstition – Stevie Wonder

A classic. Earworm: “Very superstitious/wash your face and hands”

Whistlin’ Past the Graveyard – Tom Waits

Gleefully obscure.  Earworm:  “and i busted up a chifforobe/way out by the cocomo”

Bad Moon Rising – Credence Clearwater Revival

Real life horror never sounded so great.  Earworm: “Hope you got your things together/hope you are prepared to die”

Dead Man’s Party – Oingo Boingo

Featured in Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Chuck.  Good stuff.  Earworm: “Walkin’ with a dead man/Waitin’ for an invitation to arrive”

Witchy Woman – The Eagles

Pretty song and quite misogynistic. Earworm:  “let me tell you brother/she’s been sleeping in the Devil’s bed”

Rain on the Scarecrow – John Mellencamp

Not Halloweeny but I imagine a rustic horror story with the scarecrow’s rain-tears and the bloody plow.  Earworm: “well there’s 97 crosses planted in the courthouse yard/97 families who lost 97 farms”

O Death – Ralph Stanley

This is really too eerie for a party but at this point, you should be having too much fun to notice.  Earworm: “Time and mercy is out of your reach”

P. S.  Are there songs I should add to this list?

Leave a Reply

